Taka Kigawa
"Phenomenon... There's no denying he's something special." - The New York Times
May 5, 2018
"Classical Music Highlights of the Week"
John Luther Adams
John Luther Adams

Alaska-born, New York resident composer John Luther Adams identifies as an outsider. His first visit to Carnegie Hall’s Stern Auditorium didn’t come until he was 61 when he went there to hear a performance of his 2014 Pulitzer Prize-winning orchestral work Become Ocean. He has stated that he has never really felt completely at home in the classical music world, especially with crossover music “in which classical musicians attempt to expand that tradition (and demonstrate their ‘street cred’) through appropriation of elements from pop music”. His own early background was rock and Four Thousand Holes, for piano, percussion and electronics, is an engagement with the chordal certainties of his youth. For its Irish premiere, by Taka Kigawa (piano) and Russell Greenberg (percussion) it’s coupled with Karen Tanaka’s Techno Etudes and Tristan Murail’s Territoires de l’oubli. - Michael Dervan, The Irish Times

Related Link
Back to List
Back to Top